CrossFit: My One Complaint

4 Oct

So if you can’t tell, I love CrossFit!

I am level one certified, recently started assistant coaching at my gym Kitsap CrossFit, and have been doing this workout programming for over two years.

After all this time I only have one complaint.

It stems from an experience I had a few weeks ago…

I was in the grocery store and saw one of my fellow gym members and said hi.  They said hello back and then jokingly (but seriously) said, “Don’t look in my cart!”

Her comment bothered me because it meant that people at the gym felt judged about the way that they eat and live their lives and that is the opposite of how I want people to feel.  It reminds me of people’s complaints about church!

Although CrossFit gyms advocate Paleo and Zone eating, and having any grains in your cart is a supposed no no, life needs balance. Nutrition is a process of growth and learning.  And most importantly, no one is perfect and I don’t think there is a need to be.  Balance makes people happy and sane, so if you want pizza every once in a while go for it.  I do!

My point is that grace and acceptance of yourself and others is way more important than being perfect nutritionally.

Please don’t think that because I eat well 80% of the time, I am bothered by you indulging 20% of the time.

And if I see you in the grocery store, you don’t have to cover your cart, I am not judging!

One Response to “CrossFit: My One Complaint”

  1. Mom October 4, 2012 at 14:54 #

    Excellent blog. Grace is the key!

Leave a Reply

