What I’ve Learned (CrossFit Level 1 Trainer Course review)

19 Jun

This past weekend was awesome!

The CrossFit Level 1 Trainer Course this weekend. From CrossFit.com. We are the left column fifth down.

As you know if you have been reading regularly, my husband and I went to CrossFit Bellevue this weekend for theCrossFit Level 1 trainer certificate course.

So much to say…

The Staff:  Hands down some of the greatest teaching and coaching I have seen.  I don’t just mean in relation to CrossFit, I mean in my whole life!  The trainers were engaging, dynamic, knowledgeable, experienced and personable.  I felt like I was in great hands and got really good information that I could immediately internalize and put to use.  In fact that’s what I did!

Yesturday at Command PT for the Navy Band Northwest, where I am a Assistant Command Fitness Leader, I led the band through a  warm up, taught a movement that I learned how to coach at the course (medicine ball clean), and led 16 people through a workout and cool down.

Absorbing how the staff coached and taught really helped me grow.  How about applicability!

The Format:  Everything in the course flowed and was broken down brilliantly!  I was never bored or sitting in my seat too long.  Every hour or so we were up and moving, performing and critiquing movements we had just learned about.  That really helped to solidify what was taught.  It also made the weekend fun!

The Content:  Content is King.  I was just reading at Jon Acuff’s blog about how you can have great delivery and packaging, but without content you still have nothing.  Not only was this course taught by great people and formatted wonderfully, but the content is life changing.  Learning about the functional movements, the models of fitness, nutrition, and programming solidified what I already knew, and gave me tools to fix my weaknesses.

I have been doing CrossFit for two and a half years and my life is very different:  

  • I have discovered my own strength and learned how to move and use my body functionally.
  • I work out consistently now and have seen great results.
  • I know what to feed my body to feel good and sustain long term health.
  • I have more confidence and better self-image.
  • I have formed new relationships and strengthened my marriage.
Overall I had  a great weekend, and it was wonderful to share the whole experience with my husband!  We are really looking forward to the future, and are excited about what is next for us in relation to CrossFit and life!
One Response to “What I’ve Learned (CrossFit Level 1 Trainer Course review)”

  1. Caroline June 19, 2012 at 07:54 #

    Wonderful! Congrats on leading your PT team through a WOD too! So glad you and Derek had a great time and little mini vacation on the other side of the water!

Leave a Reply

