Words of Love

21 May

As a military musician I attend a lot of ceremonies.  They usually are retirements after years of service, or when a Commanding Officer is turning the reigns over to someone else.

Now these ceremonies aren’t usually stimulating material, but the part I always tune into is when the speaker starts thanking their wife or husband for all their support.

Almost every time they tear up as they say words like: “Thank you for everything.  You have been my rock and the reason I can do what I do everyday.  I love you with all my heart.”

I look at the spouse, see the love between them and it is inspiring, but I wonder how often they say things like that.

It makes me think about how often I tell my husband how much he means to me.

Verbal affection is really important, but it is not my forte.  I have to be really intentional about telling my husband how much I love and appreciate him.

It is easy to say I love you.  It is harder to specifically tell someone what you love about them.

Sometimes telling my husband that: I think you’re handsome, I appreciate your strength, you are great at solving problems, and I love that you are so helpful around the house feels awkward to say.  Maybe that’s just me…

So it is something to work on, but it is worth it because it is all true.

What would you say to your significant other?  Are you good at verbal affection?

4 Responses to “Words of Love”

  1. Jen Rothrock May 21, 2012 at 17:02 #

    Oh dear… I am terrible at words of love. Growing up with an Italian side of the family, I learned to express my appreciation, love – and even concern – by making sure everyone was well fed! But they say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach… no?

  2. Surabhi May 21, 2012 at 10:51 #

    Oh yeah Stephanie.. I am good at it.. and thankfully my hubby is much better than me. Infact I used to feel a little awkward initially but when he was so generous with words.. I turned to expressing myself more openly.

    I believe we should say nice things to each other very often. They really make a huge difference in one’s life.

    • kickasswife May 21, 2012 at 20:13 #

      I am hoping the same will happen with me Surabhi! My husband is generous with words as well, communication is so natural for him. It is definitely something I appreciate!

Leave a Reply

