A Life of Passion

28 Nov

I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

I spent the day with some friends as my husband was out of town, but when he got back we had our own little feast on Saturday.

This is really such a nice time of year!

Even though we are busy with preparations for the holidays, usually we shift focus from daily things and onto the people in our lives and the deeper subjects of life.

Maybe you have even begun to think about the coming year and who you want to be.

Who do you want to be?

I was feeling a bit listless today and started to reflect.  What is my passion, who am I supposed to be, what am I supposed to do?

I often feel these questions pulling on me. They have been the chief occupier of my thoughts the last 2 years.

A lot of the books I have read related to this topic say that I already know what I am passionate about, who I am, and what I am supposed to be. 

I just have to rediscover it within myself.

When it boils down, I am passionate about my marriage, and about homemaking (decorating, cooking, organization, dog training, finances).  I have other interests…music, singing, reading, etc. but they don’t quite reach that passion level.

I already know what my passion is, but I keep searching for a different one.

Society tells me that I should want a career, but my natural instincts are pushing me toward the traditional female role.

I am tired of apologizing to myself about my passion. 

Today the searching stops and I give in.

My desire is to live my life doing something I am passionate about.

It may not make financial sense, but I believe that we will always be more successful in the long run doing something we love.

Who knows…maybe this blog will blow up and I can write about living my passion for a healthy wage!

Do you know what your passion is?

Are you living your life in a way that incorporates your passion?

If you think living a passionate life is important then help me out by sharing this post with your friends because this blog is an important part of my passion!

4 Responses to “A Life of Passion”

  1. evasantiago310 December 3, 2011 at 22:07 #

    I went to college and got a degree like I was “Supposed to”. Then God entered my picture and He gave me a desire to start a family. 22 years of marriage later and 4 kids, I have never regretted a single day of having chosen a more “traditional” role for me; staying at home to home school my kids is one of my passions and I love what I do. I also get to write and publish my books which is one of my dreams. So choosing to do what I love has paid me way better than if I had settled for a steady pay check in corporate America, which is where I was headed had I followed the path of where my degree was “supposed to” lead me. Following your heart PAYS BIG!!

  2. Beth Brainard November 29, 2011 at 17:36 #

    I think that if you’re doing what you love, then you don’t have to ‘work’ a day in your life. Following your passion gives more fulfillment than any high-paying, high-stress JOB ever could. I believe its more important to be true to oneself than to society and a person should never have guilt or hesitation in following their own passion in life and doing so regardless (and even in spite of) society should give a person a bigger sense of power, strength and accomplishment than following a path they weren’t meant to take because of other’s ideals or opinions.

  3. lifevesting November 28, 2011 at 08:22 #

    I agree… I’ve been reflecting a lot on working for my passion recently. I work in finance but never intended to work in it and after the long weekend I couldn’t help but reflect on how happy I was doing other things.

    • kickasswife November 29, 2011 at 15:24 #

      I think a lot of people feel that way, which is unfortunate. One book that I read recently that is about this subject is “Quitter: Turning Your day Job into Your Dream Job” by Jon Acuff. It talks about the process he went through to move from his day job as an IT writer into a successful blog writer and published author. It was really good you might want to check it out!

Leave a Reply

