The Qualities of Your Man

23 Nov

When I was in high school I didn’t date, but I did start thinking about the kind of man that I wanted to spend my life with.

I am more of a get to the point person; I didn’t want to waste my time dating guys that weren’t potential marriage material.

My three highest criteria were that he:

  • Have high character and moral values
  • Was someone that I could respect
  • And be someone that respected me

Maybe that sounds like common sense, but maybe you, or others you know, have been in a relationship where those basic concepts were absent?

Thankfully, I found and chose a wonderful guy!

My friend and I were chatting the other day and we came to the conclusion that the little things that sometimes irk us about our husbands are totally irrelevant when we consider their high character.

If you don’t have a relationship with someone with character and respect, you can’t make it.

If you do have those things, you can overlook and chuckle about little annoyances (not changing the toilet paper).

Sometimes it is hard to think objectively about a person when we are in like on the way to love, but it was the most important thing I did to ensure that I was making a commitment to a quality person.

What are some of the qualities that are important to you in a partner?

4 Responses to “The Qualities of Your Man”

  1. Jason Anthony November 27, 2011 at 22:11 #

    I think this type of outlook (overlooking the trivial) can be very beneficial for couples. Toothpaste habits and leaving the seat up should most definitely take a back seat to character, morals, integrity, and respect.

    • kickasswife November 29, 2011 at 15:25 #

      I couldn’t agree more Jason. Thanks for checking the blog out too!

  2. lifevesting November 23, 2011 at 06:25 #

    I completely agree with you. Ian hardly ever doing the dishes has nothing to do with the fact that I completely respect him and feel that he has a high moral character.

  3. T Scott November 23, 2011 at 05:43 #

    lol…nice post.

Leave a Reply

