What Love Is

21 Nov

At my wedding and pretty much anyone else’s I have been to 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 has been read.

Just in case you aren’t familiar it goes something like this:

Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.

Sound familiar?  The thing is that if you are anything like me this is so familiar that I sort of skim over it as I read.

But there was a speaker that switched this verse up for me and I will remember it for the rest of my life.

He said that if that verse is the definition of love, let’s spin it around and define hate:

Hate is impatient, hate is unkind.  It envies, it boasts, it is proud.  It is rude, it is self-seeking, it is easily angered, it keeps records of wrongs.

Hate delights in evil, and despises the truth.  It never protects, never trusts, never hopes, never perseveres.  Hate always fails.

When you put it that way any time we are impatient, unkind, boastful, rude, we are showing hate instead of love.

It is very easy to sugar coat the principle of love and think of it as roses and daisies, but when we look at our actions everyday what are we communicating?

No one is perfect and can communicate love all the time, but it sure is a worthy mission to strive for.

Read more posts in The Love category.


2 Responses to “What Love Is”

  1. Stephens Stratton Sheldon May 1, 2012 at 00:14 #

    Love is when nothing else matters but your partner. I fell in love with my soul mate Verona two plus years ago and would love nothing more than to spend the rest of my life with her.
    Stephens Stratton Sheldon

  2. lifevesting November 21, 2011 at 09:37 #

    What an excellent point! I’ll have to be careful the next time I get impatient with my boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

