Friends That Last

16 Nov

When you move across the country it can be hard to keep  in touch with old friends.

It is so easy for me to live “out of sight out of mind”!

And even though I have made some new friends, sometimes I still feel lonely for the old ones.

I have been feeling this acutely lately and have set out to remedy it.

The last two days I have had wonderful conversations with two close friends that I haven’t talked to since last Christmas when I was visiting at home.

On the one hand I feel a bit pathetic in my friend capabilities, on the other, I feel great that I have developed friends that last over time and space.

Marriage is a wonderful relationship, but it does not eliminate our need for friends outside of that relationship.  In fact, having time away with friends usually adds to our marriage!

Maybe you are a natural social butterfly, or maybe you are pretty introverted like me, either way life can get lonely sometimes and it is important to reach out.

Reaching out is hard.  You have to think about it and be purposeful, but the reward is so fulfilling.

It is important not to make excuses.

I sure have in the past…

“I am too busy.”

“Why do I always have to initiate?”

“I don’t need anybody else.”

These are just lies we tell ourselves to get by, but they fall short when we need someone to talk to.

Relationships are the only lasting meaningful part of life.

I think about that pretty frequently.  When I envision people in their last moments, I usually imagine that they wished they had more time to spend with the people they loved, not more time with their stuff.

Connections with people give us meaning, hope, love, encouragement, and so much more.

Yes, people can and do cause pain and struggle, but overall it is worth it.

Is there a relationship you need to nurture?

Make an effort to call them this week and catch up.


4 Responses to “Friends That Last”

  1. Robin June 6, 2012 at 06:36 #

    Sorry, but couldn’t disagree more. When we need friends the most, that’s when friendship is least likely to be found. Neediness repels. Nobody has time for your “problems”, they’re too busy dealing with their own. You’re responsible for you, and when it comes down to it, that’s all you have. “Reaching out” means you’re needy and don’t have a life.

    Find something beyond people to keep you occupied. Love yourself. That’s all there is to life.

  2. Christen November 18, 2011 at 20:43 #

    Great post! I can totally relate but my most common excuse is thinking that the other person is too busy. I’d hate to think that other people didn’t reach out to me because I’m too busy. Sometimes you gotta just make the call 🙂

    • kickasswife November 20, 2011 at 14:29 #

      I agree Christen! Just make the call.

Leave a Reply

