How the Television Stole Life: In Review

14 Nov

So last week was great!

I didn’t watch TV for 5 days and it went really well.

The thing is, I was so “busy” not watching TV that I rarely sat down to relax. 

Also, because my husband was still watching TV, at the end of the week, it felt like we hadn’t spent much time together because I was running around avoiding the TV.

After the challenge, we spent the next two days hanging out together watching “Arrested Development” and catching up with each other.

Moral of the story for me is that while TV doesn’t have much value in terms of moving towards my goals,  it is fun entertainment and a good setting to spend time with my hubby laughing together.

And spending time with him is a great goal!

Going forward, I am going to look for a balance.  We both decided that during the week we want to have some more time to read and do other non TV things together.

However, I am not going to feel bad about spending an evening on the couch curled up with my pup and husband.

Do you want to catch up on the No TV Challenge posts?

How the Television Stole Life

How the Television Stole Life: Update

One Response to “How the Television Stole Life: In Review”

  1. lifevesting November 22, 2011 at 09:44 #

    Sitting on the couch in front of the TV is how Ian and I bond as well – sometimes we watch episodes of the Office together and catch one another saying the lines at the same time… I wish I didn’t spend so much time in front of screens but screens don’t necessarily mean you sacrifice quality time with loved ones. Many a time my mom and sister and I have bonded (i.e. sobbed) together over a good movie. I really love this idea of no tv week though and am thinking of trying it myself (after Christmas and all those Christmas movies of course).

Leave a Reply

