Traveling Safe as a Woman

8 Nov

As we head into the holiday season, a lot of us will be traveling.  Something that should be on our minds during this time is our safety.

My husband just finished his first master’s degree course on Victimology, so the talk of safety has been recurring in my house lately.

I make the six hour trip to visit my sister fairly regularly, so we have talked a lot about things I can do to make the drive safer.

Here are some good tips he gave me for traveling alone by car:

Before the trip…

  • Prep your car by getting the oil and other fluids checked, and make sure the air is good in the tires.
  • Know your route before you go- good planning goes a long way.

On the road…

  • Don’t stop to help someone on the side of the road-this may seem mean, but someone else can do it, or just call 911 if something looks really wrong.
  • When you stop to fill up, make sure it is a well lit station, preferably not in the middle of no where.
  • As you walk to and from your car, have your keys out so that in case someone comes at you you have a weapon ready.
  • Every so often, call someone to let them know where you are in your trip.
  • Always keep the car at least half full- if you get stranded you want to have some gas to keep you warm.
  • If you do break down have roadside assistance that you can call to get you on your way.

In general…

  • If you “have a feeling” don’t push it aside, follow your gut instincts.
  • Have some common sense- don’t carry your purse around open, don’t walk around with money in your hand.

Some of this stuff (like using your keys as a weapon) seem extreme or overly concerned, but stuff happens a lot more than

we think.

The truth is that although women are empowered and all that, we are still more vulnerable than men, so we need to have safety on the mind.

Don’t live in fear, but live smartly and safely when you are on the road this season.

Don't let this be you!

6 Responses to “Traveling Safe as a Woman”

  1. Caroline November 13, 2011 at 06:12 #

    Good stuff, good stuff, good stuff! Yesterday my husband and I put “winter survival bag” in both of our cars. It sounds extreme but it just insures that we have plenty of wool blankets (for 2 adults and 2 kids), water (leave a little extra room in the top of your water bottle as water expands when it freezes), nonperishable snacks, old pair of boots, first aid kit, flash light, reflective vest, etc. It sounds like a lot but it really isn’t…. it filled up a medium size duffel bag. I’ve always been safety conscious but now that I’m a mom, it is just something that I have to do. I couldn’t forgive myself if something happened to my kids just because I wasn’t prepared. GREAT POST!

  2. Suzanne November 9, 2011 at 06:14 #

    Wow, victimology! What a course.

    Thanks for the good advice – it’s always nice to have a refresher on being careful and aware. 🙂

  3. Anita Mac November 8, 2011 at 06:11 #

    Excellent tips! It is always better if you are prepared then hopefully the need for the above tips are reduced! I can safely say that my father would completely agree with everything you said -especially the part about keeping a minimum of 1/2 tank in the car! One day I had to collect him to go to the doctors. I had been out of town that morning for work, and in a rush! Went to fill my 1/4 tank as I left the small town, only to find the gas station had no fuel!!! Drove out to dads in a hurry, started to head into town (he lives in the middle of nowhere!) and splutter, splutter stop…ran out of fuel! Luckily I was picked up by the Maytag Man (seriously – that is what he was!!!!) and got into town for fuel! In the end, the can wasn’t enough and I was still stuck. $200 tow truck and 4 hours later, I made it home. Dad rescheduled his doctor appointment and I have never been able to live down the fact that I let my gas tank go below half way!!! Sigh – lessons learned on the road!

    • kickasswife November 8, 2011 at 19:42 #

      That is some real world experience right there!

  4. lifevesting November 8, 2011 at 06:09 #

    Such a great post! You always write such great pieces on being smart and being prepared!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How the Television Stole Life: Update « kickasswife - November 10, 2011

    […] to like me on Facebook and share/like my posts on your pages if you want your friends to see what I write […]

Leave a Reply

