How the Television Stole Life

7 Nov

Maybe you have felt this way too, but lately I have been noticing how when I sit down and watch a couple shows with my hubby, somehow things that I wanted to get done don’t happen.

That isn’t a big surprise, but since I have added blogging into my schedule, I notice the time lost a lot more.

When you live life without goals, it isn’t a big deal to watch hours a week of television, but the moment you set some personal goals you begin to notice how your time is spent.  I know I did.

So here is the Challenge:  For the next five days, ending Friday evening, I am not going to watch television.

Feel free to join me if you want, but I am going to see just how much I can accomplish in the next few days by not watching TV.

What am I going to do with that time?

  • Read some books I have been ignoring.
  • Plan out my blog a bit more.
  • Practice flute and voice.
  • Do some fun stuff: decorating, cooking, and sewing.
  • Spend more time training my dog.
  • Play a board game with my husband.
  • Have sit down dinners with my husband and talk more.

Just look at all those things I have wanted to do!!

When you think about it, cutting back on something like television allows you to be present and active in your own life, and your family’s too.

Doesn’t that sound better than sitting on the couch for hours a day?

If you want to join me in this short challenge, write some of the things you will do with your time in the comments.

Who wouldn't want to spend time with this dog?!

Want to read more on accomplishing goals and using your time well?

Take a Break

3 Habits That Improve Your Life

A Well to Draw From

5 Responses to “How the Television Stole Life”

  1. Karen Fazzini November 8, 2011 at 18:10 #

    I will be going to bed a whole lot earlier!

  2. OneFancyMommaChristen November 7, 2011 at 16:45 #

    Just found your blog from a comment you posted on the SimpleMom site. I am in love with this post and may be falling in love with your blog. I want to be a kickasswife too!

  3. lifevesting November 7, 2011 at 11:42 #

    Your pup is so cute and this is a fantastic idea! We live in a world full of screens so taking time away is so important. Good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How the Television Stole Life: In Review « kickasswife - November 14, 2011

    […] How the Television Stole Life […]

  2. How the Television Stole Life: Update « kickasswife - November 10, 2011

    […] have completed three days of my no TV challenge and so far pretty […]

Leave a Reply

