When You Just Feel Sad…

28 Oct

 Yesterday afternoon around 4:36 P.M. I felt sad.

It came out of nowhere, and I couldn’t think of why I felt sad right away.

Have you ever had that happen to you?

Well, I immediately began reviewing my life to see if anything was off.  After  a while, I realized that I have been working on lots of new goals, and trying to up my commitments to them.

Also, I had a decision or two that I had been putting off.  I just hadn’t wanted to make myself think through them all the way and come to a decisive place.  These things, were adding some stress, and contributed to my sad mood.

Listen to music that makes you feel good.

So what did I do to process my sadness and get myself out?

I acknowledged my feelings: I said out loud to myself “I am sad”, and then texted my husband to just let him know how I was feeling.

I let myself feel the sadness: Although, I wasn’t sure at the beginning what I was sad about, I just let myself cry for a minute or two and embraced what I was feeling at that moment.  It is no use trying to suppress what we are feeling.  The only way to move past a negative feeling is to move through it.

I reviewed my life: I started thinking about my life and acknowledged all the wonderful things in it, all the things that I had to be happy about.

I turned on some music: Although I love rock music and the energy it brings, when I am feeling sad I turn on some feel good happy music. For me that is light acoustic stuff.  It just lightens my mood and I pick something with a positive feel to it.

I got up and did something: In the last few months, I have set up some great morning, afternoon, and evening routines that help me keep the basics of life and my house running.  I hadn’t finished some of those things so I got up and straightened the kitchen and folded some laundry.  Nothing adds to a bad mood like inactivity, so I knew I couldn’t just stay sitting on the couch.

By the time I had done these steps, I had figured out what was bothering me, and my sadness was gone!

To be honest, I didn’t have these steps laid out when I was sad yesterday.  I just realized as I moved through them intuitively that I could write them down so I knew what to do next time.

I hope these are helpful suggestions for the next time you get sad and don’t know why.

Adapt them to your life and needs.  The important thing is that we know how to move through our negative feelings to the other side.

Let me know in the comments what helps you when you are in a funk.

5 Responses to “When You Just Feel Sad…”

  1. Joan October 31, 2011 at 10:39 #

    You were right not stuffing those feelings. The moving through it part isn’t always easy, but it sure is necessary! When I get the ‘blues’, I do something I enjoy – take a nice walk, go for a ride in the country, read a favorite book, call a friend, or go to that ‘laughing place’ that my husband calls it – remembering something so silly that even bringing back the memory makes you laugh!

  2. Surabhi October 28, 2011 at 10:37 #

    Hi Stephanie,

    I have nominated you for Liebster Award – a blogging award given to bloggers that have less than 200 followers but deserve more recognition. You are doing a great job at blogging. Keep it up.

    Check out my blog to see the nominations and do the needful. 🙂

    • kickasswife October 28, 2011 at 13:21 #

      wow! Thank you! I will be checking all the details out thanks.

  3. lifevesting October 28, 2011 at 08:41 #

    You have such a positive way of tackling negativity. I’ve found when I am sad that folding laundry or making a fun meal can cure everything (an episode of the Office doesn’t hurt either). I’m glad you’re feeling better and that your sadness inspired you to write such a great post.

    • kickasswife October 28, 2011 at 13:19 #

      Office…yes! Also Parks and Recreation, and 30 Rock are on my feel good lists too 🙂

Leave a Reply

