Love Language: Communicate your love effectively.

21 Sep

Have you ever given someone a gift, done something nice, paid a compliment, or spent time with someone and felt they didn’t appreciate it like you thought they would? Has this ever happened with your spouse?

Acts of Service

This used to happen to me sometimes and I would get so frustrated until I read a great book: “The 5 Love Languages,” by Gary Chapman.  Through reading this book, I figured out that my love language is different than my husband’s.  I show people love through acts of service and physical touch.  This helped me finally understand that while my husband appreciated my cleaning the house, he didn’t necessarily feel love from it.

We have different love languages, or ways in which we communicate love and receive it.  Love languages tell you how to fill your loved ones emotional love tank and what you need to fill yours.  The five love languages Gary Chapman presents in his book are:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Receiving Gifts

4. Acts of Service

5. Physical Touch

Physical Touch

Odds are that you and your husband are not using the same love language.  If you have different languages, it can take time to learn how to communicate love in the way they need. For example, every day when my husband gets home from work, I take a break from what I am doing and focus on him for a few minutes because he values that quality time. This took a concerted effort on my part because it is not my primary language, but it is so fulfilling to give love in a way that makes sense to him.

So, take a step back and figure out what love languages you and your spouse are, and then love each other well.

Quality Time


6 Responses to “Love Language: Communicate your love effectively.”

  1. Laura September 24, 2011 at 08:59 #

    My husbands love language is definitely acts of service. Mine is touch. I always tease him because his love language take s a lot more effort than mine! But it’s well worth the time (I keep saying to myself). He’s always pleased when he comes home and I tell him the projects I’ve done for the day. Unclogged the drain – Fantastic! Dusted all the furniture – Amazing! Took out all the garbage so he wouldn’t have to – Cuddle time! Ding ding ding! We have a winner!! Haha

    PS: Thanks for starting this blog. I always feel refreshed in my goals for the day when I hear others are working in the same way! I love to please my husband and I’m so excited that others have a vision for their marriage as well.

    • kickasswife September 25, 2011 at 07:59 #

      Thanks Laura!
      You and I have any easy love language for sure. Just give me a hug, hold my hand and I am happy! It really is rewarding to love your husband in a way that makes him happy, even if it is not natural to you!

  2. Joy September 22, 2011 at 00:22 #

    lookin’ good sista!


  1. The Art of Being and Dreaming « kickasswife - May 22, 2012

    […] Love Language: Communicate Your Love Effectively Share this:EmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Physical Touch « Beautiful Mess - May 9, 2012

    […] Love Language: Communicate Your Love Effectively ( Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterPrintStumbleUponPinterestLinkedInTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. 5 Things I Love About My Husband « kickasswife - October 14, 2011

    […] Love Language: Communicate Your Love Effectively Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: