Wake Up Love: Morning Coffee

17 Sep

Every morning, my husband wakes up and has a small pot of coffee.

When I started reading and learning about making my marriage even better, one of the things that came up was doing small things that your spouse would appreciate.  It seems weird at first to think that small things really can improve a marriage, but it is true.  As I started to think about what I could do, his morning coffee came to mind.

The first day I made it, he immediately noticed when he came down and thanked me right away.  Now several months later, I don’t always make the coffee in the mornings, but on weekends it has turned into a fun endearing ritual.  I get up first, make coffee and then wake him up by telling him his coffee is ready.  He loves it!

What is the big deal about such a small thing?  Doing something for your spouse creates feelings of love in your heart and if they notice and thank you for it, it creates appreciation and good feelings all around.  Get enough of these positive interactions and the tone of your marriage just might improve.  It is hard to be filled with complaining thoughts and negative attitudes when several times a day you serve the one you love just because you care.

So what can you do?

Think of three things that you can start doing for your spouse on a regular basis that they would appreciate.  Write down your ideas in the comments so that others can be inspired too!

Here are mine to get you started:

  1. Make morning pot of coffee.
  2. Scratch or rub his back at night.
  3. Make breakfast for him one day during the weekend.
3 Responses to “Wake Up Love: Morning Coffee”

  1. jen September 27, 2011 at 19:42 #

    Making coffee is a big one. Anything I make for him makes him happy. Anything I do to make his workload easier (he’s self employed). And if we’re being honest, lovemaking, even if im exhausted! It’s like it means more then lol.

  2. Joy September 18, 2011 at 07:24 #

    Food is always a sure way to a man’s heart! Making my hubby’s lunch has always been a chore because it reminds me of making my own lunch as a kid in school. But, it is a sure winner in terms of communicating love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Things I Love About My Husband « kickasswife - October 14, 2011

    […] Wake Up Love […]

Leave a Reply

